Feeling the Rain and Renewing Your Soul

528af1e4a32c694530f9a5a1363da779

I love the rain. Even at almost 48, if given the opportunity (and the right shoes!), I would rather jump in a puddle than walk around it! I love the sound of rain on a metal roof, relish the great naps that a rainy Saturday afternoon can create and am in awe of the clarity of a post-rain evening sky. Bonus points to God for a beautiful rainbow!

Sure, rain sometimes comes at the most inopportune times, but that’s ok. Someone, somewhere is praying for it. And if a little rain on my parade is what it takes to make someone else’s garden grow, then I think I can deal with it. Heck, it rained massive bucketfuls on my wedding day and it still turned out to be the most magical day of my life.

Rain can be symbolic for the ritual cleansing we all need periodically.  Those soft gentle rains that tearfully wipe away the sorrows and disappointments that derail our day. The pop-up showers that come unexpectedly, creating havoc in our lives and then disappearing as quickly as they arrived. They leave a path of destruction in their wake and remind us that  we sometimes need to be shaken and stirred into a jolt of reality. There are thunderstorms, endless days of cold, bone-chilling rains and beautiful days of warm, Springtime showers that make us want to rip off our shoes (or more!) and dance.

We need to feel the rain! Let it wash over us and experience the emotions of the storms of life. Grabbing an umbrella or hiding indoors — as far away as we can get from where the winds and water blow — will not help. Go stand directly in it! Stand tall, look squarely into the eye of the storm and hold your ground. It will pass! Let every drop of water wash over you and feel the cold, wet water trickle down your skin. Nothing is more awakening than rain!

“Last night
the rain
spoke to me
slowly, saying,
what joy
to come falling
out of the brisk cloud,
to be happy again
in a new way
on the earth!
That’s what it said
as it dropped,
smelling of iron,
and vanished
like a dream of the ocean
into the branches
and the grass below.
Then it was over.
The sky cleared.
I was standing
under a tree.
The tree was a tree
with happy leaves,
and I was myself,
and there were stars in the sky
that were also themselves
at the moment
at which moment
my right hand
was holding my left hand
which was holding the tree
which was filled with stars
and the soft rain –
imagine! imagine!
the long and wondrous journeys
still to be ours.”
― Mary Oliver

Cold as it is today, I have this incredible feeling to run barefoot through my backyard and play in the rain.  Care to join me?  It’ll be outrageously wonderful fun!

Leave a Reply

