Living a Life Like Laura Ingalls Wilder

Wooden background

From the time I could read, I’ve admired Laura Ingalls Wilder.  Her spirit.  The adventurous lifestyle her family led.  The courage she had at a young age to leave the comfort of her family home, live with strangers and teach children barely years younger than herself.

Laura knew hardship and loss; she faced difficult times with a resolve and faith that was steadfast.  She lived simply, ran barefoot through the creeks and meadows of the Great Plains and knew the exhilaration that comes with a life of living off of the land.  Her stories gave me fodder for life, taught me lessons I have yet to fully realize and set deep in my heart the importance of faith, family and a hard days work.

“It is the simple things of life that make living worthwhile, the sweet fundamental things such as love and duty, work and rest, living close to nature.” –Laura Ingalls Wilder

Honesty.  Truthfulness. Making the most of what we have. Being happy with simple pleasures.  Having courage when things go wrong.  The keys to an outrageous life?  Indeed.

One thought on “Living a Life Like Laura Ingalls Wilder

Leave a comment