Very Inspiring Blogger Award…Me? Wow!

VIBYou could have knocked me over with a feather this morning when I opened my email and saw that I had been nominated for a “2013 Very Inspiring Blogger” award. What humbling — yet extremely encouraging — validation that this journey I am on to share my vision for living life to its fullest has a true purpose!

The award is a peer award, nominated by other bloggers who are inspired by what you write. Brenda, who writes a fabulous blog, imconfident, has bestowed this honor my way. If you have a moment, visit her site. She is committed to building self-esteem and confidence in others…something this girl knows all too well how challenging it is to overcome a short supply of! Thanks, Brenda for the honor!

The award rules say you must share seven facts about yourself, so here goes:

I collect Carr China. I have over 5,000 pieces of the stuff.  Seriously!  My husband grew up in the small town of Grafton, WV where the pottery was located from 1916 until it closed in 1952. I fell in love with it on my first visit to his hometown when he took me to the ruins of the pottery and there, along the river bank of the Tygart River, I found thousands of pieces of pottery shards scattered like diamonds up and down the bank. Little fragments of restaurant logos, delicate patterns, whole mugs, etc., all abandoned for over 50 years were just begging for my attention.  I’ve spent thousands of hours researching pattern names, documenting the pottery history, locating family records and, of course, collecting pottery from all over the world. When I retire, I will open a museum in his hometown and pay homage to this beautiful story that so richly deserves to be told!

I hate rodents. Any kind of critter with beady eyes and a tail is akin to the devil incarnate.  My child will never have a hamster, gerbil, guinea pig or any other sort of creature. Pidgeons are rats with wings, so birds are pretty much out around here too. I’m not sure where my deep-seated fear came from, but suffice it to say that if you want to kill me, put a mouse in my pocket and I will expire within 30 seconds. Guaranteed.

I am passionate about travel. I was born with a wanderlust that I pray is never satisfied!  I’m thankful that I travel frequently for a living, have a husband and a child who welcome the “road less traveled” and am blessed with “just enough” discretionary income to plan the occasional decadent trip. I did not travel on an airplane myself until I was 18 and did not leave the country until I was in my mid-20s.  My daughter had her very first airplane ride at 6 weeks, her first stretch limo, first class plane ride and hotel suite – complete with her own nursery! – at age 12 weeks. She has the bug even worse than I and I a pray her journeys and life experiences take her places I can only fantasize about!

I love luxurious bedding.  Nothing – and I mean nothing – beats slipping in between crisp, cool linen sheets. The higher the thread count, the better. Thank god for places like Tuesday Morning, Gilt Groupe and, occasionally, Nordstrom Rack, where I can find obscenely decadent bedding in a price range that won’t cause me to miss a mortgage payment. But I do have rules – I refuse to buy any sheets that require dry cleaning…seriously!

I love to read. Give me a good book and I can devour it like a four-year-old can hit a plate of Oreos. A well-written book with a good plot and strong characters can cause me to put everything else on hold. And while I love my Kindle app on my iPad, some authors are reserved only for hardbacks. To me, nothing beats the feel of a weighty novel and the smell of paper and ink. For authors like W.E.B. Griffin, I will gladly carry the extra weight in my briefcase just for the joy of reading a new novel, uninterrupted, on a transcontinental flight.

I miss my Dad. In just a few days, he will be gone seven years. Cancer really stinks and it sure robbed me of one of most amazing men I’ll ever know.  I close my eyes and wish so hard that I could see his face in my mind’s eye. Even after all these years, it really ticks me off that I cannot will that image to my mind. I have tons of cherished pictures and a few videos that I can pull up on my computer, but I can never figure out why I cannot recall the clear image I want to see. Boy, what I wouldn’t give for just one more laugh, hug and conversation with him.

Most importantly, I am blessed. I have a wonderful husband, an amazing daughter, a loving and supportive extended family and an outrageously wonderful life that is so much more than I could have dreamed of. No, it isn’t perfect.  I struggle with job issues, friendship issues and have more stress in my personal and professional life than I would like. But I know I am saved, know I am loved and have a deep and abiding faith that carries me through the rough spots. What more can I ask for?

Back to the Award…Nominate Other Inspiring Blogs

The rules also say that you must nominate other blogs that you find inspiring and inform them about it. There are many that touch my heart, encourage me and help me find my way, but these are some of the ones that I find consistently keep me going. Please check them out!

Undead Dad:  Explorations of Mindful Fatherhood  A very real perspective on fatherhood from an excellent writer!

Goal Habits:  Daily Nourishment for Goal Achievement, Success and Life  An inspirational and motivational dose to start your day!

Truth Matters:  Know, Proclaim and Defend the Truth  Practical, biblical-based look at current events.

Sit Down at a Typewriter and Bleed  A young writer who is gifted beyond her years.  I found her when she was freshly pressed and continue to be awed!

Blabbermouth on Duty  Because every girl needs a little fashion inspiration, too!

Thanks again, Brenda, for the recognition! And thanks to all who read and encourage me! It keeps me going!

One thought on “Very Inspiring Blogger Award…Me? Wow!

Leave a Reply

